- This event has passed.
Eltham Lower Park
February 8 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Prior to the extension of European people into the lands of the Nillum-bik in the late 1830s the Wurundjeri people had been meeting in the area now known as Eltham Lower Park for thousands of years. Waterway junctions had a particular attraction as tribal meeting places and the junction of the Diamond Creek with the Yarra River (Birr-arung to the Wurundjeri) was one such important location in terms of aboriginal culture. The sculpture “Not Just a Pretty Place” by Aleks Danko, located near the junction of these two watercourses pays tribute to this important cultural location.
The first European settlers were squatters or leaseholders and itinerants such as timber workers. Records of their early occupation are sketchy but the Eltham Lower Park area was probably included within the pastoral run established in 1841 by Henry Foley. He sold his leasehold in 1845 to Joseph Wilson who in turn sold it to Frederick Faulkner soon after.
From this early history the Eltham Lower Park area has undergone many changes and has been developed to provide residents and visitors with a range of passive and active public open space, including even being used for various horse racing events.
At the Eltham District Historical Society’s next meeting, Jim Connor will explore the history of Eltham Lower Park and touch on various individuals and groups involved along the way. As always, Society members and visitors are most welcome to attend this meeting.