Victorian Community History Awards 2021


The 2021 shortlist of entries for the Victorian Community History Awards was announced today (Friday 17 September) by Minister for Government Services, Danny Pearson.  Click here to see the shortlist in full. It is fabulous! Our congratulations to all those on the shortlist. The judges have an unenviable task in winnowing the entries – every one deserves to win. We’ll be giving you more information about the individual entries in the shortlist through our social media (mostly Facebook) over the coming months. 

The winner of the Premier’s History Award and winners in the other 9 categories will be announced towards the end of October (History Month) when we live-stream the announcement. Sadly, once again due to COVID lockdowns, we are unable to have an actual awards ceremony. Our live-stream is the next best thing (without the scones). 

Entries now closed

The Victorian Community History Awards have closed for 2021 and entries are no longer accepted.  History projects that come to fruition between 1st July 2021 and 30th of June 2022 will be eligible to enter the 2022 VCHA and entries will open in March 2022. Keep an eye on this website for the entry process for 2022.

The 2021 shortlist will be announced in early September and the awards ceremony is to be held, hopefully, at the Victorian Arts Centre on Friday 8th October during History Month.


Victorian Community
History Awards 2021

Conditions of entry

Only Australian organisations and/or residents are eligible to enter. Subject matter is limited to non-fiction and creative non-fiction works where history is primarily related to the State of Victoria or projects that encourage greater access to Victorian collections.

Creators must not be State Government Departments or Agencies as defined in the Victorian Government Directory.  Current Councillors and paid staff of the Royal Historical Society of Victoria (RHSV) are ineligible.

Creators are those groups or individuals responsible for researching, writing and producing the work, which may be separate from the role of the Publisher. 

The official entry form must accompany each entry.

Hardcopy book entries must include three copies of the finished publication (not drafts or proofs). If submitting your  hardcopy book entry via the online portal, your application will not be valid until your copies have been physically received by the RHSV. After judging, books will be added to the RHSV collection and used for review across RHSV publications. 

Non-print entries must be provided in an accessible format ie. a DVD or USB if delivered, or a URL link if submitted online.

Entries will not be returned.

Judges will not be able to attend physical activities in person, so entries for exhibitions or tours should be accompanied by comprehensive supporting material such as programs, maps, recordings or photographs.

Entries must be original and the property of the entrant. Any publisher submitting on behalf of an author must have the consent of the author.

Entrants’ work must have been completed (ie. published, exhibited or launched) between 1 July 2020 and 30 June 2021.

Entries must be received by 5pm Wednesday 7 July 2021. Late entries won’t be accepted.

If you believe there may be a perceived conflict of interest associated with your project entry, please attach further information for the judges to examine eligibility.

The judges may move entries to a category other than the one entered at their discretion.

Judges’ decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Public Record Office Victoria and the Royal Historical Society of Victoria reserve the right to exhibit or publish, in whole or in part, any submissions to promote the Awards.

The Victorian Community History Awards are proudly presented by Public Record Office Victoria and the Royal Historical Society of Victoria.

The Awards recognise excellence and originality in historical storytelling. The range of award categories reflects the variety of formats that can be used to enrich the lives of Victorians through history.

Please read the conditions of entry carefully before entering. By entering, you acknowledge that you have read, understood and comply with the conditions of entry and that all appropriate research and consultation has been undertaken and necessary permissions obtained in the creation of your work.

Entries close 5pm Wednesday 7 July 2021.

The awards ceremony will be held in October 2021 coinciding with History Month. A shortlist will be announced approximately one month before the awards ceremony.

For history projects which come to fruition after 30 June 2021 you will be able to enter your project in the 2022 awards which will be open in April 2022.

Need more information?

Call us on 03 9326 9288 or 0400 387 877

Email us at |

Nunawading Refugee Camp Vietnamese Children, 1978,

Public Records Offie Victoria. VPRS 14518/P1, Unit 20, Item 5

VCHA sponsors, RHSV, PROV and State Government Victoria

Victorian Premier’s History Award $5000

This award recognises the most outstanding community history project submitted in any category.

Nominate for one of the following categories

Winning projects across all categories will ideally display excellence, originality, scholarship, popular appeal, accessibility and local community involvement as judged by the Victorian Community History Awards panels of judges.

The Collaborative Community History Award $2000

Recognises the best collaborative community work involving significant contribution from several individuals or groups.

The Community Diversity Award $1500

Recognises the publication or project which best reflects diversity and inclusion and tells the history of cultural diversity in Victoria.

The Local History Project Award $2,000

Recognises the best activity to enhance awareness of records of significance to local communities, including but not limited to digitising, indexing, and original research, and providing access to the wider community. 

The Oral History Award $1500

Recognises the best oral history presentation in any format that uses first person interviews with individuals with unique life experiences and memories. Presented in collaboration with Oral History Victoria. Visit for examples of oral history.

The History Publication Award $2000

Recognises the best publication or e-book on Victorian history which could include a biography or story of social, urban, institutional, regional or cultural history.

The Historical Interpretation Award $1500

Recognises the project which best uses a unique format of historical representation, for instance history related experiences told through physical exhibitions, artistic or musical interpretations, walks or tours.

The Local History – Small Publication Award $1500

Recognises the best small publication or e-book (maximum 200 pages) which features Victorian local, cultural or social history.

The History Article Award $500

Recognises the best article featuring Victorian history (not necessarily entirely focused on Victoria) published in a journal. Articles must be written in a scholarly style using appropriate conventions of citation.

The Digital Storytelling Award $1500

Recognises the best digital presentation of history including, but not limited to, multimedia presentations, mobile or online applications,  videos and podcasts.