Awards of Merit

Nominations for 2019 RHSV Awards of Merit close on Friday 12 April, 2019 at 5pm (AEST) and will be announced at our AGM on 21 May 2019. 

To qualify for an Award of Merit a person should have given meritorious service to a Member Society of the Royal Historical Society of Victoria (RHSV). The service should be exceptional and go beyond the routine holding of office. The nominee should have been involved in the work of the Member Society or the RHSV for a minimum of ten years, unless special circumstances occur, in which case a minimum of eight years will suffice.

Nominations can be made by any member of the Council, a Fellow of the RHSV or by a Member Society. They shall include the full name and address of the nominee and shall be supported by substantial details of the nominee’s qualifications for the award.

Awards shall be made by Council which will not be required to give reasons for its decision. The Awards will be announced at the Annual General Meeting of the RHSV. Nominations close prior to the AGM, and should be sent to the executive Officer RHSV.

The following persons have been presented with an Award of Merit.

See also our lists of Distinguished Service Award recipients and RHSV Fellows


James Lerk, Bendigo Historical Society
Peter Padreny, Castlemaine Historical Society
Sandra Sutcliffe (Royal Historical Society of Victoria)


Bernard Bolch, Walhalla Heritage and Development League
Diana Cowan, Colac and District Historical Society
Margaret Fleming, RHSV
Pat Grainger, Port Melbourne Historical and Preservation Society
Heyfield & District Historical Society, Group Award to five members
Larina Strauch, Kyneton Historical Society
Susie Zada, Geelong and District Historical Association


Michael (Mike) Moore, Fitzroy History Society
Sue Thompson, Lilydale and District Historical Society


Mary Kehoe, Hotham History Group
Lyndal and Jeremy Pascoe of RHSV
George Fernando, Camberwell Historical Society


Dorothy Benyei, Kew Historical Society
Laurie Burchell, Coburg & Waverley Historical Societies
Di Reidy, Brighton Historical Society
Valma Sheehan, Liydale & District Historical Society
Roger Trudgeon, Ballarat Historical Society


Mary Kenealy, Marysville
Reg Kenealy, Marysville


Jane Nigro, Malvern
Sandy Ross, Lilydale
Glenise Alida Heywood-Outch, Seymour


Robyn Doble, Box Hill
John Jennings, Seymour
Dione McIntyre, Kew
Ruth Permezel, RHSV
David Thompson, RHSV
John Rose, RHSV


Wesley Callender, RHSV
Vicki Court, RHSV
Di Foster, Malvern
Michael Moore, RHSV
David Oldfield, RHSV
Diana Phoenix, RHSV
Wemyss Struss, Stratford


Rod Benjamin, RHSV
Harry Gilham, Eltham


Peter Alsop, Geelong
Rhonda Diffey, Wangaratta


David Alexander (Sandy) Christie, Hastings-Western Port


Alleyne Hockley, Castlemaine
Sandra Kimmins, Gisborne & Mt Macedon
Sue Law, Eltham


Richard Barnden, RHSV
Mary Bradshaw, Skipton
Murray Houghton, Warrandyte
Nonie Long, RHSV
Dorothy Minkhoff, RHSV


John Knight, RHSV
Kathleen Murphy, Leongatha
Letty Armstrong, Linton
Libby Skidmore, Bass Valley


Brendan Lee, Stratford
Neil Taylor, Mornington


Dorothy Garrett, Apollo Bay
Bruce Nixon, Andrew Ross Museum
Graeme Wheeler, Foster
Jeremy Hales, Maffra
Bill Attrill, Stawell


Ivan Addis, Castlemaine
Leslie O’Callaghan, Warrnambool
Florence Pearce, Maffra


Peter William, Heidelberg
John Waghorn, Whittlesea


Mrs E J Kingerlee, Bendigo
Graham Hansen, Knox
Arthur Knee, Tatura
Lurline Knee, Tatura


Leigh Blackburn, Lilydale
Marie Cooper, Waverley
Gwen Hames, Werribee
Kathleen Huffer, Traralgon
Lenore Keys, Beaufort
Ethel Muller, Altona
Ted Rotherham, Warrandyte
Shirley Rotherham, Warrandyte
Fred Sadlier, Yarra Glen
Russell Yoeman, Eltham


Edna Barrie, Melton
Graeme Disney, Sandringham
Muriel McGivern, Croydon
Colin Silcock, Warragul


Kenneth N Morris, Bass Valley
Phyllis Boyd, Gisborne and Mt Macedon
Ian Boyd, Gisborne and Mt Macedon
May Keeley, Oakleigh
Irvine Green, Doncaster-Templestowe
Margery Missen, Yarram


Miss B Grice, Mornington Peninsula
Bill Crawford, South Gippsland
Rosemary Crawford, South Gippsland
Janet Hawkins, Woodend
Joan Murphy, RHSV
James William O’Callaghan, Wangaratta
Robert Eric Parsons, Sunshine


Olwen Ford, Sunshine
Angus Martin, Apollo Bay
Joan Martin, Apollo Bay


Valma Plant, Traralgon
Sheila Skidmore, Bass Valley
Peter Somerville, Melbourne’s Living Museum of the West


Claire M Keppel, Marysville
Joan I Wheal, Lorne
Graham W Wheal, Lorne
Marion Hamilton, Mount Macedon
Barney Hutton, Mount Macedon
Helen Clothier, East Gippsland


Laura McDuff, Sandringham
John K J Burns, Richmond
R B Davis, Apollo Bay
N L Davis, Apollo Bay
Ronald Lambert, Essendon
Betty Malone, Prahran
Laurie McCalman, Prahran
Gladys Ritchie, Korumburra


Frank Endacott, Healesville
Ray Hodge, Murray Goulburn
Rosalind Landells, Brighton
Stewart (Bill) Morvell, Shepparton
Andy Ringin, Moe
Ted Smith, Essendon
Edna Eileen (Jo) Trewarne, Heidelberg


Malcolm Blume, Castlemaine
Raymond Bradfield, Castlemaine
John Raymond Carroll, Seymour
Valda Cole, Hastings
Ron Falla, Donald
Laura Ferguson, Mordialloc
Cliff Halsall, Euroa
Annette Lord, Lilydale
Neville Lord, Lilydale
Charles Stewart Ross, Upper Murray


Thomas Arthur Sheehy, Cheltenham
Francis Rowland McGuire, Chelsea
John Lundy-Clarke, Lilydale
Norma Wynd, Camperdown